Call: 1st International Workshop on Pervasive Persuasive Systems for Behavior Change (PerPersuasion 2019)

Call for Papers

1st International Workshop on Pervasive Persuasive Systems for Behavior Change (PerPersuasion 2019)
in conjunction with IEEE PerCom
11-15, March 2019

Submission deadline: November 10, 2018


Recently, the technologies for changing people’s attitudes or behaviors through persuasion and social influence are focused. It is called persuasive technology or persuasive system and is expected to contribute supporting productivity, well-being, and efficiency.

To realize an effective and appropriate intervention to the human behavior, various pervasive computing technologies such as a mobile sensing, activity recognition & prediction, and attention sensing have a quite important role.

In this workshop, we would like to have a deep and wide discussion with various researchers both from industry and academia. Especially, we would like to focus on the technological aspect as follows.

  • Mobile sensing technologies for persuasive system
  • Sensing technologies for internal states (emotion, stress)
  • Socially influencing persuasive systems
  • Supplemental system for persuasion
  • Experimental supplements
  • Computer-supported influence
  • Context-aware interrupting mechanism
  • Multimodal interaction
  • Persuasive dialog system
  • Just-in-time intervention/notification technologies
  • Gamification for enhancing the effect
  • Personalized persuasion
  • Design of unconscious persuasion
  • Design of feedback
  • Case studies in the real environment


  • Submission deadline: November 10, 2018
  • Notification: December 22, 2018
  • Camera-ready deadline: January 11, 2019




  • Mani Srivastava (UCLA, U.S.A.)
  • Yutaka Arakawa (Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan)

Program committee:

  • Akane Sano (MIT Media Lab, U.S.A.)
  • Bharathan Balaji (Amazon, U.S.A.)
  • Bo-Jhang Ho (UCLA, U.S.A.)
  • Harri Oinas-Kukkonen (Oulu University, Finland)
  • Hiroki Ishizuka (KDDI Research, Japan)
  • Kai Kunze (Keio University, Japan)
  • Koichi Kise (Osaka Prefecture University, Japan)
  • Shoya Ishimaru (DFKI, Germany)
  • Tadashi Okoshi (Keio University, Japan)
  • Wolfgang Minker (Ulm University, Germany)
  • Yoshito Tobe (Aoyama Gakuin University, Japan)
  • Yukitoshi Kashimoto (KDDI Research, Japan)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ISPR Presence News

Search ISPR Presence News: