Call: Augmented Human 2018 – “Augmented Experience”

Call for Papers

Augmented Human 2018
“Augmented Experience”
Feb 7-9 in Seoul, Korea

Submission Deadline: November 1st, 2017

Human-Computer Interaction Korea and Seoul National University are hosting AH 2018, the ninth Augmented Human (AH) International Conference, Feb. 7-9, 2018. AH international conferences focus on scientific endeavors towards augmenting human capabilities through technology for increased well-being and enjoyable experiences. As in previous years, the conference proceedings will be published in the ACM Digital Library as a volume in its International Conference Proceedings Series. Previous AH conferences’ information and proceedings links are archived at

The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Augmented and Mixed Reality
  • Brain-Computer Interfaces, Muscle Interfaces, and Implanted Interfaces
  • Bionics and Biomechanics
  • Exoskeletons and Super Human Technologies
  • Interactions between Augmented Humans and Smart Cities
  • Wearable Computing and Ubiquitous Computing
  • Augmented Fashion, Art, and Tourism
  • Smart Objects, Smart Textiles an IoT Augmenting Humans
  • Augmented Sports and Serious Games, including Augmented Winter Sports
  • Assistive Augmentation, Rehabilitative Interfaces and Games
  • Alternative or Novel Feedback Modalities
  • Interfaces, Services, and Applications for Human Enhancement
  • Augmented Healthcare, Quality of Life & Well-being
  • Human Augmentation, Sensory Substitution, and Fusion
  • Holograms, HMDs and Smart Glasses
  • Hardware and Sensors for Augmented Human Technologies
  • Safety, Ethics, Trust, Privacy and Security Aspects of Augmented Humanity
  • Human-Factor Study, Field Study and User Study of Augmented Human Technologies


Full papers: 8 pages, anonymized, long presentation
Short papers: 4 pages, anonymized, short presentation
Demonstration papers: 2 pages, anonymized, demo at the conference
Poster papers: 2 pages, anonymized, poster at the conference


  • Deadline for Submission: November 1st, 2017
  • Author Acceptance/Rejection: December 1st, 2017
  • Camera-ready Deadline: December 15th, 2017
  • Conference in Seoul: February 7th-9th 2018

Submissions should be made to the conference management system:

At least 3 double-blind reviews per paper will be done.

Full papers, short papers, posters and demonstrations accepted will be published in the ACM digital library and must follow the ACM SIG Proceedings publication guidelines at Among the various ACM paper templates, make sure that you use the “SigConf” version, i.e., use “sample-sigconf.tex” if you use LaTeX, and “ACM_SigConf.docx” if you use MS Word for preparing your manuscript. In addition, make sure that you use the 2012 ACM Computing Classification System (CCS) to choose CCS Concepts for your paper.

We encourage authors to submit supplemental video materials in addition to the PDF submission. Authors of all accepted submissions will be invited and encouraged to participate in the demo sessions. Ten design projects submitted by individual students or student teams will be selected for presentation during the conference with officially signed certificates of selection, Student Design Competition awards and prizes during the conference based on public/participants votes and researchers votes. All or selected papers will be recommended for publication in the ETRI Journal (SCI(E) Indexed) with sufficiently newly added content (under negotiation).


General Co-Chairs:
Woontack Woo, KAIST, Korea
Juhyun Eun, Seoul National University, Korea

Program Co-Chairs:
Jean-Marc Seigneur, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Gerard Jounghyun Kim, Korea University, Korea

Poster Chair:
Dongsik Jo, ETRI, Korea

Demo Chairs:
Jaekwon Han, Hanyang University, Korea
Hyungseok Kim, Konkuk University, Korea

Publication Chair:
Geehyuk Lee, KAIST, Korea

Steering Committee:
Juhyun Eun, Seoul National University, Korea
Masahiko Inami, Keio University, Japan
Ellen Do Yi Luen, National University of Singapore
Hideki Koike, Tokyo Institute of Technology
Pranav Mistry, Samsung Research America, USA
Suranga Nanayakkara, Singapore University of Technology and Design
Jun Rekimoto, University of Tokyo / Sony Computer Science Laboratories
Hideo Saito, Keio University, Japan
Jean-Marc Seigneur, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Albrecht Schmidt, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Woontack Woo, KAIST, Korea
Tsutomu Terada, University of Kobe, Japan

Logistic / Social Chair:
Jeongyun Heo, Kookmin University, Korea

Publicity Chair:
Kwangsu Cho, Yonsei University, Korea

Finance & Registration Chair:
Junho Choi, Yonsei University, Korea

Industry Chair:
Jihoon Jeong, Kyunghee University, Korea

Student Volunteer Chair:
Hyung-il Kim, KAIST, Korea

Please check out AH2018 Committee for the full list of Program Committee (PC) members

This entry was posted in Calls. Bookmark the permalink. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


  • Find Researchers

    Use the links below to find researchers listed alphabetically by the first letter of their last name.

    A | B | C | D | E | F| G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z