Call: Fourth European Tangible Interaction Studio (ETIS 2020)

Fourth European Tangible Interaction Studio (ETIS 2020)
25-29 May 2020
Siena, Italy

Paper submission deadline: February 10, 2020

The aim of this event is to gather young European researchers in the field of tangible interaction, to get them in touch with internationally renowned researchers and to establish networks for their future. This summer school is a unique opportunity to train in the field of tangible interaction, enjoy practical activities for designing and developing tangible user interfaces and to discuss your research with professors and other young researchers.

ETIS 2020 is hosted by the Santa Chiara Lab of the University of Siena (Italy).


ETIS invites papers and workshop proposals about Tangible Interaction including mixed/augmented reality, organic user interfaces, or physical computing.

We welcome submissions in the form of theoretical foundations and frameworks of Tangible User Interfaces (TUI); design guidelines and methods; prototypes, tools and toolkits for TUI; design cases, and TUI applications in different domains including, but not limiting to:

  • Food
  • Education
  • Cultural Heritage
  • Industry 4.0
  • Health

Short papers (2-4 pages including references) for oral presentation and workshop proposals have to be submitted to Easychair.

Submitted papers will be reviewed by experts and selected by relevance with the proposed topics, quality of research, and potential to provoke discussions during the meeting.

ETIS proceedings will be available at CEUR, the free open-access publication service for scientific conferences and workshops.

Best paper award of 350 CHF is sponsored by MDPI


  • Paper submission deadline: February 10, 2020
  • Notification of acceptance: March 20, 2020
  • Registration deadline: April 6, 2020
  • ETIS 2020: May 25-29, 2020


The target audience of the studio is PhD students, post-doctoral researchers, Master Students, academic and industrial researchers and developers.

The maximum number of participants admitted to the Tangible Interaction Studio is 25.

The studio fee is 430 Euro VAT included. The fee includes lectures, hand-out material, coffee/tea breaks, lunch, social event, accommodation from 24/05/2020 to 29/05/2020 in a double room shared with another ETIS participant.

Please fill in the registration form by April 6, 2020 providing your contact information, current position and affiliation, a paragraph describing your research/work in Tangible User Interface.

The University of Siena will issue an open badge to those attending ETIS 2020 and participating to the plenary, demo and workshop sessions, to certificates skills and achievements with verifiable data and evidence that can be shared across the web.


  • Stéphanie Fleck, Associate Professor at the University of Lorraine – PERSEUS lab. (France)
  • Marianna Obrist, Full Professor, University of Sussex (UK)
  • Domenico Prattichizzo, Full Professor, University of Siena (Italy)
  • Tania Döring, Senior Researcher, Digital Media Lab, University of Bremen (Germany)


General chair: Patrizia Marti (University of Siena)
Program chair: Annamaria Recupero (University of Siena)
Scientific Editor: Valérie Maquil (LIST, Luxembourg)
Local organization: Giuliana Pasquini (University of Siena)
Technical support and logistics: Matteo Sirizzotti, Flavio Lampus and Simone Guercio (University of Siena)
Webmaster: Nadine Pehau (ESTIA Institute of Technology)


Visit ETIS website for updated information about the event, the invited speakers’ talks and the practical activities, or contact the ETIS organizers:

This entry was posted in Calls. Bookmark the permalink. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


  • Find Researchers

    Use the links below to find researchers listed alphabetically by the first letter of their last name.

    A | B | C | D | E | F| G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z