Call: mLearn 2017 – 16th World Conference on Mobile and Contextual Learning

Call for papers (long and short papers), posters, workshops

mLearn 2017
16th World Conference on Mobile and Contextual Learning
30 October – 1 November
Larnaca Cyprus

The International Association for Mobile Learning (IAmLearn) ( is the custodian of the mLearn conference series. mLearn is the leading annual international conference for researchers, policy makers, educators, developers and solutions providers in the fields of mobile, ubiquitous and contextual learning, as well as learning with emerging ambient and wearable technologies. mLearn attracts a large number of participants from more than 60 countries representing all continents, and is, therefore, the world’s largest international conference on mLearning and emerging ambient technologies.


The overarching conference theme is ‘mLearning and Design for Social Change and Innovation’. Higher education institutions are called upon to provide for the competencies and skills that foster design for social change and innovation. In addition, knowledge and skills alliances are encouraged by funding bodies to cultivate, share and disseminate competencies that foster social entrepreneurship and innovation. However, little is known on how mlearning can facilitate this process, how it can contribute towards social change, innovation and entrepreneurship.

The topics of interest can go beyond the conference theme, and can include any of the following:

  • The development, deployment and implementation of mlearning in the context of social entrepreneurship, innovation and social change
  • mLearning as a tool that fosters social change and social entrepreneurship
  • Innovations in mlearning theory and pedagogy
  • From pilot projects to mainstream implementation: strategies for the deployment of mLearning
  • Mobile technology to support open and distance learning
  • Mobile technology for teaching and learning support
  • Assessment techniques and practices in mLearning
  • Design and development of learning material for mLearning
  • Learning objects and metadata for mLearning
  • Informal and lifelong learning with the aid of mobile technologies
  • Challenges for mLearning in developing countries
  • Building and implementing mLearning strategies in educational institutions, companies and public sector organisations
  • mLearning management systems (mLMSs)
  • Computer tablets
  • Creating interactive and collaborative mLearning environments
  • Future trends in mLearning technology, including the impact of emerging technologies
  • Emerging hardware and software for mLearning including wearable technologies
  • Location-aware technologies
  • Contextual and situated learning
  • Augmented reality
  • Serious gaming and simulations
  • Ambient intelligence and ubiquitous learning


Submissions may be made in the following participation/presentation categories: Full papers, short papers, poster presentations, and pre-conference workshops. Further details can be found on the Paper Submission page


  • Submission for workshop proposals: 31 March 2017
  • Notification for workshop proposals: 7 April 2017
  • Submission Deadline for workshop papers: 21 July 2017
  • Submission Deadline (Long and short papers): 1 June 2017
  • Accept/Reject Notification: 15 July 2017
  • Camera-Ready Submission of all papers: 1 September 2017
  • Conference: 30 October – 1 November 2017


General Chair:

George Papadopoulos, University of Cyprus, Cyprus

Program Chairs:

Nicos Souleles, Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
Fernando Loizides, University of Wolverhampton, United Kingdom

Programme Committee Members:

Mohamed Ally,  Athabasca University, Canada
Mark Brown, Dublin City University
Kevin Burden, University of Hull, United Kingdom
Kun-Hung Cheng, National Chiao Tung University
Sara de Freitas, Murdoch University
Ali Dewan, Athabasca University
Yannis Dimitriadis, University of Valladolid
Andrew Hall, University of Manchester, United Kingdom
Marco Kalz, Open University of the Netherlands, Netherlands
Charalampos Karagiannidis, University of Thessaly
Adamantios Koumpis, University of Passau
Vitomir Kovanovic, The University of Edinburgh
Eleni Kyza Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
Mark J. W. Lee, Charles Sturt University and Federation University, Australia
Chiu-Pin Lin, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
Chee-Kit Looi, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Dickson Lukose, GCS Agile Pty. Ltd.
Ashwin Mehta, University of Leeds
David Metcalf, University of Central Florida Institute for Simulation & Training, United States
Christine Michel, Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Lyon
Marcelo Milrad, Linnaeus University, Sweden
Antoanela Naaji, Vasile Goldis Western University of Arad
Susanna Nordmark, Linnaeus University
Agnieszka (Aga) Palalas, Athabasca University, Canada
Maria Perifanou, University of Macedonia, Greece
Robert Power, Athabasca University, Canada
Christoph Rensing, Technische University Darmstadt
Daniyar Sapargaliyev, University of Wolverhampton
Mike Sharples, The Open University, United Kingdom
Sergey Sosnovsky, Utrecht University
Luca Tateo, Aalborg University
Stefaan Ternier, Open Universiteit Nederland, Netherlands
Inge de Waard, The Open University, United Kingdom
Jocelyn Wishart, University of Bristol, United Kingdom
Maria Zenios, UCLan Cyprus, Cyprus

This entry was posted in Calls. Bookmark the permalink. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


  • Find Researchers

    Use the links below to find researchers listed alphabetically by the first letter of their last name.

    A | B | C | D | E | F| G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z