Call: Academic Mindtrek 2021

Call for Papers, Posters, Demonstrations, Workshops and Doctoral Consortium

Academic Mindtrek 2021
Tampere, Finland and online (see note below)
June 1-3, 2021
Track description:
Full CfP:

Full papers, demonstrations and workshops due on January 25, 2021
Posters and doctoral consortium proposals due on April 10, 2021

NOTE: Special arrangements for virtual presentations will be made for presenters unable to travel and physically attend due to the COVID-19 related travel restrictions.

Academic Mindtrek 2021 welcomes all the scientific papers that present relevant and actual studies of today, that may shape the way we interact with technologies of tomorrow. Our goal is to facilitate a meaningful experience and knowledge sharing on how the technology merges into the society and what opportunities and hidden threats it brings.

We encourage the submissions to share methodological understanding and practices on how to design, develop and evaluate interactive digital products and services to meet a growing demand for high-quality standards. We also welcome all the works that demonstrate innovative and efficient ways to make technologies more useful, sustainable, accessible and desired for the people of the 21st century. Specifically, Academic Mindtrek 2021 welcomes submissions under the following themes but all submissions broadly related to Human-Computer Interaction (HCI) and other themes related to interaction of technology and society are sought.

1. Games and Gamification
Chairs: Juho Hamari (Tampere University), Benedikt Morschheuser (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)

2. Extended Reality: Virtual, Mixed and Augmented Realities
Chairs: Pertti Huuskonen (Tampere University), Ville Mäkelä (Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich), Andrii Matviienko (Technical University of Darmstadt)

3. Human-Robot Interaction (HRI)
Chairs: Aino Ahtinen (Tampere University), Assoc. Prof. Mohammad Obaid (Chalmers University of Technology)

4. Understanding and Designing the Socio-Technical
Chairs: Assoc. Prof. Thomas Olsson (Tampere University) and Assoc. Prof. Robb Mitchell (University of Southern Denmark)

5. Accessibility and Special Interests Groups
Chairs: Sumita Sharma (Oulu University), Grace Eden (Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology)

6. Fictional, Speculative and Critical Futures in Human-Computer Interaction
Chairs: Oğuz ‘Oz’ Buruk (Tampere University), Theresa Jean Tanenbaum (University of California, Irvine), Ahmet Börütecene (Linköping University)

7. Playable, Sustainable, Inclusive: The Future of Smart Cities
Chairs: Mattia Thibault (Tampere University), Anton Nijholt (Twente University)

8. Datafication
Chairs: Zampeta Legaki (Tampere University), Kostas Karpouzis (National Technical University of Athens), Georgios N. Yannakakis (University of Malta; Technical University of Crete)

9. Dark Side of Information Technology
Chairs: Henri Pirkkalainen (Tampere University), Monideepa Tarafdar, (Lancaster University), Markus Salo (University of Jyväskylä)

10. Immersive Media and Journalism
Chairs: Heli Väätäjä (Lapland University of Applied Sciences)

11. Emerging Media
Chairs: Jaakko Hakulinen (Tampere University)

12. Digital Art & Performance
Chairs: Riku Roihankorpi (Tampere University), Tom Gorman (Coventry University)


Deadline for full papers, demonstrations, and workshops submissions: January 25, 2021
Notification of acceptance (full papers, demonstrations, and workshops): March 25, 2021
Deadline for poster proposals and doctoral consortium submissions: April 10, 2021
Notification of acceptance (posters and doctoral consortium): April 25, 2021
Copyright forms submission: May 1, 2021
Conference registration & camera-ready paper submission: May 1, 2021
Conference: June 1-3, 2021


The Academic Mindtrek conference has a rigorous peer-review process via the EasyChair system. All submissions are peer-reviewed; each paper will be reviewed by three experts in a double-blind review. The review process is managed by local track chairs and their international co-chairs and overseen by the conference chair and academic program chair.

Please find more information on our website !

We are looking forward to your submission!

Mindtrek Team

This entry was posted in Calls. Bookmark the permalink. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


  • Find Researchers

    Use the links below to find researchers listed alphabetically by the first letter of their last name.

    A | B | C | D | E | F| G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z