Call: Human-Centered AI at AIC 2020, 8th Workshop on Artificial Intelligence and Cognition


AIC 2020, 8th International Workshop on Artificial Intelligence and Cognition
Joint with: SweCog 2020, the 16th conference of the Swedish Cognitive Science Society
Special Topic of Interest: Human-Centered AI
Örebro University, Örebro, Sweden
September 2-4, 2020

Submission deadline: May 3, 2020

Workshop website:
Submission link:
SweCog website:
Twitter account:


AIC 2020 is the 8th international appointment of the International Workshop Series AIC on “Artificial Intelligence and Cognition” (please see The AIC series started in 2013, stemming from the need of creating an international scientific forum for the discussion and the presentation of the theoretical and applied research developments in the field of cognitively inspired Artificial Intelligence.

In this spirit, the AIC 2020 workshop aims at putting together researchers coming from different domains (e.g., artificial intelligence, cognitive science, computer science, philosophy, social sciences, etc.) working on the interdisciplinary field of cognitively inspired artificial systems. AIC 2020 will take place in Centre for Applied Autonomous Sensor Systems (AASS) at Örebro University, Sweden, on September 2-4, 2020, joint with SweCog 2020, the 16th conference of the Swedish Cognitive Science Society.


All submissions must be written in English and must be formatted according to the information for LNCS Authors. All papers must present original work that is not currently under review. We welcome the following types of contributions:

  • Full research papers (8 to 14 pages)
  • Short research papers (4 to 7 pages)
  • Extended abstracts of recently published journal papers (1 to 2 pages)

Accepted papers will be published in a CEUR-Ws volume with ISSN and submitted to DBLP and Scopus.


Full research papers:

  • May 3rd, 2020: Paper submission
  • June 21, 2020: Notification of acceptance

Short papers or extended abstracts:

  • June 20, 2020: Paper submission
  • July 30, 2020: Notification of acceptance


  • Knowledge Representation and Cognition (e.g. Neural Networks models, Conceptual Spaces, Ontologies and representation of common sense)
  • Cognitive Architectures (e.g. SOAR, ACT-R) and Cognitive modelling for Artificial Systems
  • B.I.C.A. (Biologically Inspired Cognitive Architectures) and systems
  • Cognitive Robotics
  • Human-Robot Interaction
  • Evaluation of cognitively driven AI systems compared with other AI approaches
  • Cognition and Semantic Web
  • Methodological open questions on AI and Cognition
  • Automated reasoning: deductive, probabilistic, diagnostic, causal and analogical inference
  • Historical and theoretical relation among Cognitive Science and Artificial Intelligence
  • Knowledge discovery and acquisition
  • Modelling of human learning and knowledge acquisition in complex domains
  • Computational Linguistics, Natural Language Processing & Understanding
  • Logic and Reasoning
  • Evolutionary Computation
  • Spatial Cognition and Computation
  • Cognitively inspired Machine Learning
  • Computational Theories of Learning
  • Computational Creativity
  • Cognitive and the Moving Image
  • Computational Models of Narrative Understanding (Visuo-Auditory Narrativity, Perception, Cognitive Film Studies)
  • Decision Support Systems


The conference will be held in Teknikhuset, Örebro University, Örebro, Sweden


  • Christian Balkenius, Lund University, Sweden
  • Mehul Bhatt, Örebro University, Sweden
  • Erik Billing, University of Skovde, Sweden
  • Antonio Chella, University of Palermo, Italy
  • Mark A. Fynlayson, Florida International University, USA
  • Zoe Falomir, University of Bremen, Germany
  • Christian Freksa, University of Bremen, Germany
  • Salvatore Gaglio, University of Palermo and ICAR-CNR, Italy
  • Albert Gatt, University of Malta, Malta
  • Peter Gardenfors, University of Lund, Sweden
  • Kristiina Jokinen, JAIST, Japan
  • Antonis Kakas, University of Cyprus, Cyprus
  • Martha Lewis, Univ. of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Oscar Martinez Mozos, Orebro University, Sweden
  • Ana-Maria Olteteanu, Freie University Berlin, Germany
  • Alessandro Oltramari, Bosch Research and Technology Center, USA
  • Rafal Rzepka, Hokkaido University, Japan
  • Steven Schockaert, University of Cardiff, UK
  • David Vernon, Carnegie Mellon University Rwanda, Rwanda


Alessandro Saffiotti, Örebro University, Sweden

  • Amy Loutfi, Örebro University, Sweden
  • Antonio Lieto, University of Turin, Italy
  • Hadi Banaee, Örebro University, Sweden


More information can be found on the workshop website:

All questions about submissions should be emailed to


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ISPR Presence News

Search ISPR Presence News: