Call: VJ 2019: 11th Conference on Videogame Sciences and Arts

Call for Papers

VJ 2019: 11th Conference on Videogame Sciences and Arts
27-29 November 2019
Aveiro, Portugal

Submission deadline: July 31, 2019


Ten years, and ten years more.

The 11th Conference on Videogame Sciences and Arts will be held on November 27-29, organised by the Departament of Communication and Art of the University of Aveiro, and the Society of Video Games Sciences (SPCV). The annual conferences of the SPCV promote the scientific gathering of researchers in Portugal. These conferences are attended by researchers and professionals in the expanded field of videogames – Multimedia, Communication, Technology, Education, Psychology and Arts – to disseminate work and exchange experiences between the academic community and with the industry.

In 2009 the conference was held at University of Aveiro. 2019 will mark the coming back after 10 years. We intend then to show a thorough roadmap of the evolution of the national and international game research during these 10 years, as also ideas and speculations for the next 10 years.

Also, this time we plan going full international, using as working language English, for the CFP, the website, as the Proceedings. Therefore, if you’ve never participated in one Videojogos, this may be the best time to do it. We are calling for papers on games research from all over the world.


We welcome research proposals, long and short papers, and demos. All presenting new scientific results, innovative technologies, best practices, or improvements to existing techniques and approaches in the multidisciplinary research field of Games Research.

Suggested research topics for contributions include, but are not limited to:

Tabletop Games
Hybrid Games
Serious Games


Papers (short and full) must be in English. Only submissions that receive high ratings in the review process will be selected for publication by the Program Committee.

All submissions should follow the Springer Communications in Computer and Information Science (CCIS) format (see “Information for Authors of Springer Computer Science Proceedings” at Use the Word Template (

Link for submission:


Submission deadline (full and short paper): July 31, 2019
Author notification of the review: September 15, 2019
Submission of the print-ready version: October 1, 2019
VJ2019 conference: November 27-29, 2019


Full papers: 12-15 pages
Short papers: < 12 pages

The proceedings are planned to be published by Springer in their Communications in Computer and Information Science series, pending of final approval.

The Communications in Computer and Information Science is a book proceedings series by Springer and Indexed by SCOPUS, SCImago, and ISI Proceedings. More info at


Ernest W. Adams is a game designer and professor at the University of Uppsala, Sweden, with an extensive professional activity in the field of digital games, having published “Fundamentals of Game Design” (2014) and “Game Mechanics: Advanced Game Design” (2012)

More to be announced soon…


Conference chair: Ana Isabel Veloso
Scientific chair: Nelson Zagalo
Organising chair: José Nunes

Programme Committee (in construction):
Lynn Alves, UFBA, Brazil
Miguel Carvalhais, University of Porto, Portugal
António Coelho, University of Porto, Portugal
Conceição Costa, Lusófona University, Portugal
Paulo Dias, University of Aveiro, Portugal
Thiago Falcao, Universidade Federal do Maranhão, Brazil
Christopher Ferguson, Stetson University, US
Aderito Fernandes Marcos, Open University, Portugal
Emmanoel Ferreira, Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil
Renira Gambarato, Jönköping University, Sweden
Abel Gomes, University of Beira Interior, Portugal
Joao Jacob, University of Porto, Portugal
Beatriz Legerén, Universidad de Vigo, Spain
Fotis Liarokapis, Masaryk University, Czech Republic
Filipe Luz, Lusófona University, Portugal
Carlos Martinho, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Jorge Martins Rosa, New University of Lisbon, Portugal
Óscar Mealha, University of Aveiro, Portugal
Alex Mitchell, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Leonel Morgado, Open University, Portugal
Wolfgang Mueller, University of Education Weingarten, Germany
Ricardo Nakamura, University of São Paulo, Brazil
Victor Navarro-Remesal, Universidad Pontificia Comillas, Spain
André Neves, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil
Jorge Palinhos, Escola Superior Artística Porto, Portugal
Teresa Piñeiro Otero, Universidade da Coruña, Spain
Antonio José Planells, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain
Rui Prada, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Thorsten Quandt, University of Munster, Germany
Christian Roth, University of Utrecht, Netherlands
Pedro A. Santos, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Frutuoso Silva, University of Beira Interior, Portugal
Maite Soto-Sanfiel, University Autonoma Barcelona, Spain
Roger Tavares, Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
Ana Torres, University of Aveiro, Portugal
Jose Zagal, University of Utah, US

Organizing Committee:

José Nunes (Organizing chair)
Ana Isabel Veloso (Conference chair)
Nelson Zagalo (Scientific chair)
Oscar Mealha (Scientific co-chair)
Tânia Ribeiro (Branding and design)
Silvino Almeida (Web design)
Liliana Costa (Registration staff)
Mónica Aresta (Registration staff)
Pedro Beça (Workshop chair)
Mário Vairinhos (Demo chair)


Ana Veloso,
Nelson Zagalo,


DigiMedia – Digital Media and Interaction
University of Aveiro – Portugal
Sociedade Portuguesa de Ciências dos Videojogos


University of Aveiro
American Corner
FCT – Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ISPR Presence News

Search ISPR Presence News: