Call: International Association for Computing and Philosophy conference (IACAP 2014)

Call for Papers: IACAP 2014

The Annual Meeting of the International Association for Computing and Philosophy

Anatolia College/ACT
Thessaloniki, Greece
July 2-4, 2014

This year’s meeting of the International Association for Computing and Philosophy will be held at Anatolia College/ACT in Thessaloniki, Greece.

Computing technologies both raise philosophical questions and elucidate traditional philosophical problems. IACAP meetings emphasise this two-way relationship, providing an opportunity for researchers in multiple fields to share new work in an interdisciplinary setting.

We invite both abstract submissions and symposium proposals in areas at the intersection of computing and philosophy. This year’s meeting will have a single main track focusing on topics central to IACAP membership interests. Symposia will focus on more specific topics, organised autonomously by members or member groups. One symposium will be dedicated to the work of young researchers. Some abstracts will be accepted for presentation as posters. Paper presentations will be allotted 30 minutes, including discussion.

Selected papers will be published in a volume of the ‘Synthese Library’ (Springer). Authors of accepted abstracts will be invited to submit a full paper for peer-review to this volume. IACAP is also soliciting nominations for a number of awards (see below).

Topics of interest include (but are not limited to):

  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Artificial Life
  • Cognitive Science, Computation & Cognition
  • Computational Modeling in Science and Social Science
  • Computer-Mediated Communication
  • Distance Education and Electronic Pedagogy
  • Ethical Problems and Societal Impact of Computation and Information
  • History of Computing
  • Information Culture and Society
  • Logic
  • Metaphysics of Computing
  • Philosophy of Information
  • Philosophy of Information Technology
  • Robotics
  • Virtual Reality

… and related issues


For abstracts, we request anonymous submission of 600-1000 words (plus references) in plain text or PDF, plus a short abstract of up to 120 words. All submissions will be reviewed double-blind by at least two members of the programme committee. All submissions of paper abstracts – whether to the main track or to symposia – are made centrally on the same site and all reviewing takes place on that site.

For symposia, please provide a brief motivation (ca. 300 words), a list of envisaged speakers, and indication of time needed (full day, half day, etc.). The submission procedure and reviewing for symposia will be taken care of by their organisers – but within the structure provided by IACAP and the submission system for this conference.


Submission of symposium proposals: 1. February 2014
Submissions of abstracts: 1 March 2014
Notification of acceptance or rejection: 28 February for symposia, 31 March for papers.

Submissions may be sent through EasyChair:

More details can be found at

The Herbert A. Simon Award

The Herbert A. Simon Award for Outstanding Research in Computing and Philosophy recognizes scholars at an early stage of their academic career who are likely to reshape debates at the nexus of Computing and Philosophy by their original research. Nominations for the Herbert A. Simon Award may be proposed either by academic institutions or by colleagues with some expertise in computing and philosophy. Previous recipients include Judith Simon (University of Vienna), Patrick Allo (Vrije Universiteit Brussels), John Sullins (Sonoma State) and Mariarosaria Taddeo (University of Hertfordshire, University of Oxford).

To nominate a candidate for this award, please send names and website URLs (or CVs) to by 15 January 2014.

The Covey Award

The Covey Award recognizes senior scholars with a substantial record of innovative research in the field of computing and philosophy broadly conceived. Covey Award candidates may be proposed either by their home institution or by fellow scholars of computing and philosophy who are well versed in the candidate’s work. Previous Recipients include Margaret Boden (University of Sussex), Luciano Floridi (University of Hertfordshire), Terrell Bynum (Southern Connecticut State University), John R. Searle (University of California, Berkeley) and Edward N. Zalta (Stanford University).

To nominate a candidate for this award, please send names and website URLs (or CVs) to by 15 January 2014.

For more information on IACAP, joining the IACAP mailing list, becoming a member, or further details about the conference, please visit:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ISPR Presence News

Search ISPR Presence News: