Call: Automotive User Interfaces and Interactive Vehicular Applications (AutomotiveUI’13)

Call for Papers
5th International Conference on
Automotive User Interfaces and Interactive Vehicular Applications

Submissions due: June 25th 2013 (extended)

Based on a multitude of requests from the Automotive UI Community we have decided to extend the deadline for submissions of Full and Short papers to JUNE 25, PST 23:59

There are just two weeks left to submit your paper to AutomotiveUI, the premier forum for UI research in the automotive domain.

The conference is in cooperation with ACM SIGCHI and held on October 28-30, 2013 in Eindhoven, The Netherlands.

Check out the details at:

AutomotiveUI brings together leading experts from academia and industry in the field of in-vehicle user applications and interfaces. AutomotiveUI ’13 will address novel in-vehicle services, models of and concepts for enhancing the driver experience, models of and concepts for driver performance and distraction, effects of developments such as (semi-)autonomous driving, and the varying needs of different user groups (including drivers and passengers).


Authors are invited to submit papers that are 4 or 8 pages long, formatted in accordance with the two-column ACM SIGCHI format ( We are happy to consider a variety of styles for inclusion in the proceedings, such as academic papers, design sketches, interaction concepts, and industrial case studies. Along with the paper, authors are also encouraged to submit an accompanying video. The papers will be selected in a peer-review process. All accepted submissions will be included in the conference proceedings and the ACM digital library.

At the conference, papers will be presented as oral talks or posters. Eight page papers will be presented as talks, while four page papers will be invited for presentations as either oral talks or posters.

If your paper is accepted, at least one author must register for the conference by the early registration deadline (September 25th) in order for the final version of the paper to be published in the conference proceedings.

Please submit your work using the EasyChair conference submission system available at

Revised time schedule:

Submission Deadline:  June 25th, 2013
Acceptance Notification:  July 25th, 2013
Camera-ready / Final Version:  August 22th, 2013

Contact & Further Information:

Organizing Committee:

General Chair (
– Jacques Terken, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, The Netherlands

Papers Co-Chairs (
– Marieke Martens, TNO/ Universiteit Twente, The Netherlands
– Christian Müller, DFKI, Saarbrücken (Germany)
– Jennifer Healey, INTEL Labs, Santa Clara, CA (USA)

Work-in-progress & Interactive Demos Co-Chairs (
– Andreas Riener, Johannes Kepler University, Linz

Workshops and Tutorials Co-Chair (
– Ronald Schroeter Queensland University of Technology

Industrial Showcase Co-Chairs (
– Christian Müller, EIT-ICT Labs/DFKI Saarbrücken (Germany)
– Alex Uyttendaele, DAF Trucks, Eindhoven, The Netherlands

Organizational Co-Chair (
– Swethan Anand, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, The Netherlands

Doctoral Colloquium chair (
– Andreas Riener, Johannes Kepler University, Linz

Publication Co-Chairs (
– Sebastian Osswald, Center for Electromobility, Singapore and University of Salzburg Austria

Webmaster (
– Dino Sepac, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, The Netherlands

Local Organization
– Karine van den Wildenberg, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Eindhoven

Program Committee:

Ignacio Alvarez, Clemson University
Susanne Boll, Universität Oldenburg
Linda Boyle, University of Washington
Gary Burnett, University of Nottingham
Duncan Brumby, University College London (UCL)
Susan Chrysler, University of Iowa
Birsen Donmez, University of Toronto
Berry Eggen, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven
Alois Ferscha, University of Linz
Peter Froehlich, Telecommunications Research Center Vienna (ftw.)
Paul Green, University of Michigan
Jeff Greenberg, Ford Motor Co
Riender Happee, TU Delft
Helen Harris, (unspecified) Jennifer Healey, Intel
William Horrey, Liberty Mutual
Shamsi Iqbal, Microsoft Research
Christian Janssen, The Smith-Kettlewell Eye Research Institute
Myounghoon Jeon, Michigan Technological University
Matt Jones, FIT LAB, Swansea
Jessica Jung, Fraunhofer IESE
Nicholas Kelling, University of South Florida Polytechnic
Dagmar Kern, Bertrandt Ingenieurburo GmbH
Seungjun Kim, Carnegie Mellon University
Matthias Kranz, Luleå University of Technology
Andrew Kun, University of New Hampshire
John Lee, University of Wisconsin
Tomas Macek, IBM Czech Republic
Angela Mahr, German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI)
Rod Mccall, University of Luxembourg
Daniel Mcgehee, University of Iowa
Zeljko Medenica, University of New Hampshire
Bruce Mehler, MIT
Alexander Meschtscherjakov, University of Salzburg
Christian Müller, Germand Research Center for Artificial Intelligence
Michael Nees, Lafayette College
Cristina Olaverri, Technische Universität München
Sebastian Osswald, University of Salzburg
Oskar Palinko, University of New Hampshire
Bastian Pfleging, University of Stuttgart
Benjamin Reaves, Oracle Corp
Bryan Reimer, MIT
Andreas Riener, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Institute for Pervasive Computing
Shannon Roberts, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Kazunori Shidoji, Kyushu University
Mikael Skov, Aalborg University
Joonwoo Son, Daegu Gyeongbuk Institute of Science & Technology
Dalila Szostak, Intel
Ivan Tashev, Microsoft Research
Jacques Terken, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven
Manfred Tscheligi, University of Salzburg
Omer Tsimhoni, General Motors Israel
Jessica Villing, University of Gothenburg
Bruce Walker, Georgia Tech
David Wilfinger, ICT&S Center, University of Salzburg
Raphael Wimmer, University of Regensburg
Ute Winter, General Motors
Huimin Xiong, University of Washington


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ISPR Presence News

Search ISPR Presence News: